Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Main Title
Our Statement
Emergency Management
Emergency Information
Citizen Preparedness
Emergency Operations Centers
Emergency Volunteering


Riverside County Fire Department

Office of Emergency Services



Riverside County is the fourth largest county in the State of California, stretching nearly 200 miles across and comprising over 7,200 square miles of fertile river valleys, low deserts, mountains, foothills, and rolling plains. Riverside County shares borders with densely populated Los Angeles, Orange, San Diego, and San Bernardino Counties, extending west from within 14 miles of the Pacific Ocean east to the Colorado River. It is located in the southeastern portion of the Governor’s Office of Emergency Services Southern Region.
County OES fulfills a wide variety of roles from the field response to emergency incidents within the County to operating the County EOC in supporting and recovering from major emergencies and disasters.
All County OES activities are focused around the four primary phases of emergency management; Mitigation, Preparedness, Response and Recovery.
OES is the lead agency in fulfilling the County's responsibility under the California Emergency Services Act (Chapter 7 of Division 1 of Title 2 of the CA Government Code) and also serves as the Operational Area Coordinator for Riverside County under the Standardized Emergency Management System (CA Government Code 8605).